Another Coincidence

 We were recently discussing books that had a strong emotional impact, and I brought up one I had read during our trip to Italy. On the outset I wouldn’t have thought it memorable, but I really made a connection with the main character and became deeply upset over the troubles that befell her, staying up to read while everyone else chatted or went to bed.

This was during the period when I wasn’t recording books, so all I could recall was that it was thick, Irish, and by an author with a B. Imagine my surprise when I stopped by the used book rack at the library and saw Circle of Friends by Maeve Binchy; I knew immediately that this was the book. Of course I had to buy it, as well as another of hers that was there. I’m not sure I would want to reread it, for fear of ruining the memory of that summer, but something with such an impact at least seemed worth owning.

Published in: on December 20, 2008 at 7:49 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2008/12/20/another-coincidence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

