Lost in Translation Challenge

Okay, I promise this is the last challenge for 2009–I won’t even sign up for this one officially even. I do know that author diversity is an area I tend to struggle in. I managed three foreign books in 2007 but none this past year (not counting a Japanese American one).

Lost in Translation Challenge, hosted by Fran of Nonsuch Book

The challenge is simple – read six books in translation by the end of 2009. Comment with links to share or email me review URL to post. Check in periodically to see suggestions, reviews and what others are reading as well as articles and posts related to reading works in translation. Comment here with feedback and helpful suggestions? Would love to hear from you.

6a00e5535ff83b8833010535cc1adb970bMy List

1. The Elegance of the Hedgehog (This has been getting rave reviews, one of which called it a French equivalent of Alexander McCall Smith)

2. Chocolat—with the sequel out now, it makes sense to finally read it

3. Suite Française, by Irene Nemirovsky—another one that’s been on TBR list

4. The Club Dumas—the premise seems intriguing

5. Invisible Cities, by Italo Calvino–I suppose I should read something else of his since I loved If on a winter’s night a traveler so much.

6. Wild Card–Theoretically I should read something Russian, but I’d rather wait to find something that strikes my fancy.

Published in: on December 23, 2008 at 1:04 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2008/12/23/lost-in-translation-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] was utterly fascinating and really flew by. As an added bonus, I realized I can count this for the Lost in Translation Challenge! Published […]

  2. […] book counts for both the Lost in Translation Challenge and the Guardian Challenge. It is also one of the “1001 Books to Read Before You Die.” […]

  3. […] ones I hadn’t heard of). Since it was originally written in Danish I may also use it for the Lost in Translation challenge, but I have others in mind and am trying to minimize overlaps. It is on the 1001 Books […]

  4. […] book, translated from French by Isabel Reid, is my third for the Lost in Translation challenge. Published […]

  5. […] is another one for the Lost in Translation Challenge but found completely at random–I was getting a mystery from a nearly library shelf and […]

  6. […] is the original post in which I listed my planned books. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Lost in […]


Leave a Reply

