Christmas Gifts

 As usual, the majority of my Christmas presents this year were books. Oddly enough, I tend to have a hard time making a wish list. Apparently, though I may by all means still collect children’s books, they are no longer appropriate gifts (though I plan on getting the latest boxed set of Nancy Drew graphic novels with my leftover per diem). Most of the books I acumulate are also used, in some cases because I refuse to pay list price but mostly because a lot of what I deem worth owning is out of print. Happily, however, some of that is starting to change.

Thanks to a renewed interest in Georgette Heyer I was able to ask for and receive five of her historical novels: An Infamous Army, Simon the Coldheart, The Spanish Bride, Royal Escape, and The Conqueror. I’ve mostly read her romances and mysteries, so I’m looking forward to these!

Mom also picked out two new mystery series for me. The first is Ann Purser’s Lois Meade Mysteries. Lois is a “working-class mum and housekeeper extraordinaire” in a small English village, and all the titles have a day of the week in them. For some reason this reminds me of the Magic Tree House books especially as she was just switched to hours of the day. The covers are adorable, though, with calendar pages woven into the scenes. The second series, Death on Demand by Carolyn G. Hart, features mystery bookstore owner Annie Laurance and promises to be very enjoyable. The author is up to about eighteen, and has I believe won several awards.

I also received Thursday Next: First Among Sequels, by Jasper Fforde. I’m toying with the idea of rereading his others first, which I would love to do at some point, but as this is set fourteen years after the first group it’s probably not necessary at this point. Especially when I now have so many other books to read…

Published in: on January 2, 2009 at 7:46 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/01/02/christmas-gifts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] accurate period detail, and plenty of witty reparté–are here as well. Luckily I have four more on the shelf waiting for […]

  2. […] accurate period detail, and plenty of witty reparté–are here as well. Luckily I have four more on the shelf waiting for […]

  3. […] received the first few books in Carolyn Hart’s Death on Demand mystery series a couple years ago, and have been planning to read them ever since. Unfortunately, my small paperbacks are three rows […]

  4. […] the hours of the day. It reminds me of the Magic Tree House titles. Mom gave me the first three a few Christmases ago, and I found two others at a used book […]


Leave a Reply

