The Corinthian

At the hotel I managed to breeze through Georgette Heyer’s The Corinthian.  Many critics call her the next best thing to Jane Austen; though the situations and pace of Heyer’s Regency romances are decidedly more modern (she impishly includes actions that Austen would have viewed as improprieties), the setting, with it’s dialogue, nobilities, and pastimes, is without a doubt spot-on Regency.

Corinthian

Sir Richard Wyndham is about to propose to a girl his family expects him to marry when he unexpectedly meets Pen Creed.  She too is faced with an arranged marriage and is fleeing in the guise of a boy to find her childhood sweetheart. Sir Richard feels obligated to accompany her, and thus begins a journey replete with colorful characters, charades, questionable deeds, and changes of heart.

On the whole I am not a fan of romances with more than a five year difference in age (here, twelve). However, I do admit that it made it much more plausible for them to go off on such a journey unchaperoned. Though this will likely not be my favorite Heyer, there’s no doubt that it was well written, engaging, and highly enjoyable.

Published in: on January 5, 2009 at 7:15 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/01/05/the-corinthian/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think this is actually one of my favorite Heyers, and like you I don’t like it when there is a huge gap in ages between hero and heroine, but it seemed to work in this case (and the difference wasn’t too drastic). I’ve been in the mood for another Heyer, but I haven’t gotten around to picking one up. Maybe I will before the weekend ends. Which are your favorites?

  2. Danielle,
    I can’t quite keep straight all the ones I read when younger, but I had more of her mysteries and my favorite was Envious Casca. Of the Regencies, The Talisman Ring is my favorite so far. I got a bunch for Christmas I’ve yet to read, though!


Leave a Reply

