Will You Do the Fandango?

As usual my reading has diminished somewhat since the return to school, but I have been making some progress with Scaramouche. Melody at Redeeming Qualities mentioned Sabatini a while ago and I’ve been dying to try him ever since. I’m about a third of the way through, though it was slow going at first.

I have torn feelings about the physical book itself, though. It’s part of the 1924 Autograph Edition set, a limited run of 500 published right in Boston by Houghton Mifflin. The beginning of the volume includes a page of Sabatini’s own writing and autograph, and it hasn’t been checked out since 1973. However, the whole set is bound in dull brown cardboard boards with a red cloth spine, and franky look quite ugly. It makes me wonder if at some point they had dust jackets.

It has gotten very interesting, though I confess everytime I pick it up I get the Queen song stuck in my head…

Published in: on January 12, 2009 at 9:28 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/01/12/willyou-do-the-fandango/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

