Bookmooch

I finally caved in and joined Bookmooch. I’d been toying with the idea for a while but kept convincing myself I didn’t need another excuse to get books. Besides, it’s not really free; postage costs add up over time.

However, there is something to be said for the ability to obtain out of print books, which form a good portion of my chosen reading. While I have no hopes of snagging a Virago (which I only learned about this year anyway) or even a Grosset and Dunlap, it seems a viable option for completing collections of authors like Mignon Eberhart.

In addition, because everything is done by ISBN, it seems more reliable than my experience with half.com or Amazon’s used market (not to mention probably cheaper).  Though there’s no description of condition, the other sites tend to overgeneralize that anyway, and at least I’ll know whether to expect hardcover or paperback.

Finally, the simple fact that you must send books to get points should curb my splurging, as I’m always reluctant to give them up. Right now I’ve listed some Mary Higgins Clarks that I updated to hardcover, and until someone wants those I’m content to sit and wait.

Published in: on June 2, 2009 at 3:01 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/06/02/bookmooch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

