Classics Challenge

I noticed this link for a Classics Challenge while browsing other book blogs, and I think this is one I can actually do. I’m already about a third through Little Dorrit and I’d like to keep one “heavier” book going at a time even if I mixed in lighter fare like mysteries. That approach seemed to work with Tess of the D’Urbervilles, and Love in the Time of Cholera.

I think I’ll opt for the “Classic Snack”, which means four by the end of October, with a modern classic bonus. Here’s the tentative list:

classicssmall1. Little Dorrit, by Charles Dickens

2. 1984, by George Orwell

3. Moll Flanders, by Daniel Defoe

4. The Mayor of Casterbridge, by Thomas Hardy

Bonus: Atonement, by Ian McEwan (which feels like cheating since I’ve been dying to read it)

If I were recommending a classic to a beginner it would have to be something light–a personal favorite is The Catcher in the Rye, which I first read in seventh grade, but for someone older you can’t go wrong with Jane Austen. Other modern classics are Penelope Fitzgerald’s books, or The Secret Life of Bees.

Published in: on June 3, 2009 at 3:02 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/06/03/classics-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] book is my first for the Classics Challenge, and is also on the Guardian list (though not intended for that challenge). Published […]

  2. […] book is the modern bonus for the Classics Challenge, and is also on both the Guardian and 1001 Novels list. This goes to show the differences, as […]

  3. […] book is on both the Guardian and 1001 Books lists. It is my third out of five for the Classics Challenge. As a fallback I may also use it for the Sci-Fi/Fantasy category of the Guardian Challenge, but […]

  4. […] is my third book for the Classics Challenge. Only one left! It is also on the 1001 Books and Guardian […]

  5. […] is on both the Guardian and 1001 Books lists. It is also my fifth and final book for the Classics Challenge. I’m so glad I chose it, because I ended up loving it almost as much as Tess. The characters […]

  6. […] my original post for the challenge. I ended up doing the Classics Snack option, which meant four books (all on my […]


Leave a Reply

