Library Loot

I went to the library with a list, hoping to find more books for the Guardian Challenge, but everything I wanted was either checked out or not at this branch. In some cases , like Lynne Reid Banks’ The L-Shaped Room, it didn’t even show up in the catalogue. I’m going to have to either get creative or rethink my challenge selections. I browsed for a while for titles I recognized, however, and did walk away with these.

Detective Story, by Imre Kertész. The title of this slim volume caught my eye.  I didn’t really read the summary but the author won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2002, so it should be good.

Atonement, by Ian McEwan. This is the modern bonus read for the Classics Challenge, but I’ve been dying to read it ever since the movie came out. I can’t wait to get started!

The Uncommon Reader: A Novella, by Alan Bennett. Another one from the TBR list, and another short book. Which is good, since I have plenty at home to read as well.

Emma: Volume 1, by Kaoru Mori. I was going to wait before trying another graphic novel, but this was part of a display and looks like just the thing! It’s the story of a Victorian maid who falls in love with the son of the house.

Published in: on June 17, 2009 at 6:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/library-loot-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

