Under-Appreciated Books

Kelly at The Novel Bookworm is hosting a giveaway in honor of her blogiversary. I’m new to her site, but it’s such a neat idea that I couldn’t resist myself.

Kelly is a big fan of Big Sid’s Vincati: The Story of a Father, a Son, and the Motorcycle of a Lifetime, a touching memoir about rebuilding a father-son relationship by undertaking an seemingly impossible project after the father’s medical trouble. However, the motorcycle aspect of it has been made most prevalent by publishers, so that it fails to draw a larger audience to appreciate it’s lessons on life and love.

To be honest, I’m not a huge expert on strained parent/child relationships (my brothers, father, and grandfather get along fine), and know even less about motorcycles. But if my library has a copy I’m willing to give this one a read, and at least help contribute to the buzz about it.

In addition, I also want to plug one of my favorites that also deserves much more attention than it gets. Cordelia Underwood: Or, The Marvelous Beginnings of the Moosepath League, by Van Reid, is a wonderful rambling story set in late nineteenth century Maine. Some critics compared his writing style to Dickens, and after becoming more acquainted with the latter I have to agree. It’s filled with the escapades of a slew of delightful characters whose lives and adventures seem to interlace, as well as a gentle humor. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it last year (it lingered on my TBR pile for a few before that, unfortunately), and was dismayed to find that the following four books in the series are all out of print. I’ve been keeping my eyes open for used copies in decent condition, because I know these are keepers.

Published in: on June 27, 2009 at 9:47 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/06/27/unde-appreciated-books/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Kelly Norman has great taste. She’s my hero!

    And thanks for taking an interest in my book. If you read it, do let me know what you think!

    best

    Matthew Biberman


Leave a Reply

