Library Loot

This time I went to the library with a set list and limited myself, so that I’ll be mixing in TBRs from my shelves as well. Here’s the output.

library-lootChocolat, by Joanne Harris. I’ve heard so many things about the book and movie! For some reason I thought this had actually been written in French; I guess I won’t be using this for the Lost in Translation challenge, but at least that gave me an excuse. All the regular copies were checked out so I took the large print one, which always makes me feel slightly guilty.

Murder on the Eiffel Tower: A Victor Legris Mystery (Victor Legris Mysteries), by Claude Inzer. I’ve been reading a lot of fiction lately and would love to work some mysteries back in. This actually is translated from French, and has the same setting as Black Elk in Paris, the 1888 Exposition.

Smilla’s Sense of Snow, by Peter Hoeg. Another translated mystery, this one Danish. From the jacket: “To read Smilla’s Sense of Snow is to be taken on a magical, nerve-shattering journey–from the snow-covered streets of Copenhagen to the awesome beauty of the Artic ice caps. A mystery, a love story, and an elegy for a vanishing way of life, Smilla’s Sense of Snow is a breathtaking achievement, an exceptional feat of storytelling.”

Coraline, by Neil Gaiman. I found it lying of the floor by the YA aisles, and now seems as good a time as ever to cross it off the TBR lists. This one has generated a lot of buzz, and I’m interested to learn what it’s about.

The Secret of the Ruby Ring, by Yvonne MacGrory. My only impulse selection. I always feel slightly odd checking out a children’s book, but this was front-facing as I passed the shelf and looked too good to pass up–a girl named Lucy and time traveling in Ireland.

Published in: on June 30, 2009 at 11:33 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/06/30/library-loot-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog and taking part in the AustenFest :). I’m so glad you stopped by!

    As for your books above, the only one I’ve read from your list is “Chocolat” by Joanne Harris–but I *loved* it!! (And the film, though different from the book in a few key ways, is also wonderful. Well, it’s got Johnny Depp in it AND lots of chocolate, so…)


Leave a Reply

