Jane Austen Challenge

As soon as I saw this I knew I wanted to participate–except that I had promised myself no more challenges. However, since movies are also allowed here I caved. I can put those on in the background if I get too busy in the fall, since I know several by heart anyway.

The Everything Austen Challenge

July 1, 2009 to January 1, 2010

everythingausten1

The details! The Everything Austen Challenge will run for six months. All you need to do is pick out what six Austen-themed things you want to finish to complete the challenge. What is considered Austen-themed? Obviously, any of the books Jane Austen wrote herself count, so if you’ve been contemplating reading one of her novels, now is the time! Or, maybe watch the different movie versions of Pride and Prejudice. You could even try reading one of the many sequels written by various authors or listen to one in your car on your way to work. Truly, the list can be endless! All you need to do is pick six Austen-themed items to read and/or watch to participate. Note that you can mix it up a bit – maybe commit to watching three movies and reading two books – or if your TBR pile is huge, pick out six movies you would like to watch – YOU DECIDE! Also, you can combine this with another challenge.

Here’s my tentative list, though it all probability it will change:

  1. Sense and Sensibility: I’ve seen the Emma Thompson film several times, but this is the only one of her six works I haven’t read.
  2. The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, by Syrie James: This one looks fascinating, especially after reading an interview with the author for AustenFest.
  3. Bridget Jones’s Diary, by Helen Fielding: I’ve seen the film for this one as well, but am curious about the book. Hopefully I’ll be able to get Renee Zellwegger out of my head!
  4. Pride and Prescience: Or, A Truth Universally Acknowledged, by Carrie Bebris: This looks like a charming mystery featuring the Darcys as sleuths. I have the third book in the series but have been looking for an excuse to get the first.
  5. Emma: With the new adaptation coming out I had probably better watch the Gwenyth Paltrow version.
  6. wild card, depending on time and mood–perhaps Lost in Austen?
Published in: on July 3, 2009 at 5:20 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/07/03/jane-austen-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks so much for joining my challenge!!

  2. […] is my first book for the Everything Austen Challenge. Published […]

  3. […] the sequel at some point to see how the story continues, but that one won’t count for the Everything Austen Challenge like this does. Published […]

  4. […] book is my fourth for the Everything Austen Challenge. I also started wondering whether I myself qualify as a Jane Austen addict. Probably not yet. I […]

  5. Hi fellow Everything Austen participant,
    Please come to the Pemberley Ball, Nov 20-22, 2009

  6. […] to my original intentions,  I didn’t watch any Austen movies. That will change when Masterpiece Classics airs the new […]

  7. […] The discovery of this much-overlooked story reminded me all over again of why I love Jane, as her writing itself can often be lost in the flurry of films and spin-offs. Not that I mind them, course! This is my third read for the Everything Austen Challenge. […]


Leave a Reply

