Bookmooch Loot

I’ve been on Bookmooch for a few months now and have sent roughly a half-dozen books, but I just requested and received my first one! As much as  I love choosing books in person there is also nothing quite like the thrill of getting one in the mail.

My first splurge of course had to be a series book, so I chose one of the two 3-in-1 volumes of Nancy Drew put out in 2004 by Grosset and Dunlap. I’m a completist, so of course I have to have everything ND!

I did notice that the copyright page gave special acknowledgment to Mildred Wirt Benson for ghostwriting the first Nancy Drew Books. It’s a nice gesture, but The Hidden Staircase and The Ghost of Blackwood Hall are revised texts, while The Thirteenth Pearl is the last classic volume. These were all done by Harriet Stratemeyer Adams, who gets no mention at all. Haven’t we learned by now that the best way to give credit for Nancy Drew is to everyone or no one?

Also, I wonder how these particular books were chosen to be featured. The first volume has The Secret of the Old Clock, The Bungalow Mystery, and The Mystery of the Ninety-Nine Steps. There doesn’t appear to be any thematic connection. Are these the most popular titles for Grosset and Dunlap? The later titles are certainly not the ones I would have picked.

Published in: on August 21, 2009 at 12:06 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/bookmooch-loot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

