One More Chapter…

I realized that part of my problem with Moll Flanders may have been that there were absolutely zero breaks in the text. Personally I am a huge fan of the psychological process known as “chunking,” which has to do with short-term memory but basically involves breaking information into smaller chunks.

For some reason I really rely on this when I read. I hate stopping in the middle of a chapter if I can help it, and whenever I reach the end of a large section I feel somewhat of an urge to stick a bookmark in and take a break, unless it’s a huge cliffhanger. On the other hand, if it’s a book I’m carrying around with me I try to sneak some in whenever I can, no matter how few pages.

Do you prefer to read in time increments, in chapter allotments, or just whatever inclination you have at the moment?

Published in: on August 27, 2009 at 9:24 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/08/27/one-more-chapter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

