Library Loot

I promise that there will be more actual book reviews soon–I’m halfway through Murder on the Links and loving it, while More Die of Heartbreak is much tougher going. I had to renew it at the library today, and while I was there I couldn’t help myself…

library-lootBridget Jones’s Diary, by Helen Fielding. I don’t think I need to explain this one. For the Everything Austen Challenge.

The Paris Enigma, by Pablo de Santis. International society The Twelve Detectives has its first meeting at the 1889 World’s Fair–and eleven survive. It’s up to the rest to preserve their lives and organization by finding the killer. For the Lost in Translation Challenge.

Roseanna, by Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö. The first Martin Beck police mystery from this Swedish couple. For the Lost in Translation Challenge.

This Dame for Hire, by Sandra Scoppettone. Faye Quick, secretary at a New York detective agency, takes charge when her boss goes off to WWII. If this is anything like the Paige Turner mystery series it seems to resemble I’ll be happy.

The Mislaid Magician, or Ten Years After, by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer. The followup to their two earlier books, which I absolutely loved–think Harry Potter meets Jane Austen. I’m a little wary about the time gap, but fully expect to enjoy this.

And, of course, a quick look at the used book rack, a habit I really must kick. I passed up a beat up Thorn Birds paperback since I prefer to borrow books I’m not sure I’ll like. I couldn’t say no to a hardcover of Saturday, though; if it’s anything like Atonement, which I read last month,  it’ll be worth owning.

Published in: on August 29, 2009 at 12:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/08/29/library-loot-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

