Reading Update

I’ve been in much more of a reading mood lately. A large part of it is having finished a few books, and the joy of picking out new ones at the library. Somehow, though, I feel the change in seasons is also partly the cause. It’s supposed to get warmer by the end of this week but the temperature has dropped lately to the low seventies and will even be in the fifties tonight. Of course for me this means I needed a sweater, but there’s something inexplicably uplifting about the cool breeze blowing in through the open window. It seems to me the wind of change, of a new beginning, of the stage being set for the next phase in the cycle of life.

My current classic is still More Die of Heartbreak, and I’m gladly nearing the end. To be honest, I was really close to abandoning it at one point, but after getting accustomed to the loquacious style I’ve found it quite interesting even if not my normal cup of tea. This is another one that seems almost unrelenting in the flow so I’ve taken to carrying it around the house with me and squeezing in a few pages at a time–ten minutes while eating breakfast, two minutes waiting for the computer to start up, three minutes during a commercial break in the Phillies game. It’s amazing how quickly this adds up.

To balance it out I also started Roseanna. This mystery spans from July to November, and seems a perfect fit for reading in bed at night with the covers pulled around me.

I’ve been planning on reading Sense and Sensibility for the Everything Austen Challenge, as it’s the only one of her six major novels I have yet to read and I’ve been spacing them to one a year. However, I’m also very tempted by the Lady Susan read-along happening this fortnight. Do I stick with S&S because it fits so well with The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, or switch to Lady Susan for the group dimension and much-missed book discussion? Or do I quit my careful rationing and splurge for both, knowing that The Watsons, Sandition, juveneilia, and letters still await? I’ll have to decide soon, as reading starts tomorrow. Any thoughts?

Published in: on September 1, 2009 at 11:12 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/09/01/reading-update-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just came across your blog, and love the way your posts/reviews read I’ll be back šŸ™‚

  2. Diane-thanks for stopping by. I’ll have to check out your blog as well!

  3. […] did after all decide to forego Sense and Sensibility in order to participate in the group read of Lady Susan at […]


Leave a Reply

