Booksale Bargains

The booksale on Saturday was an all-around win: I found some great bargains, limited myself to under twenty dollars, and had a chance to catch up with the head librarian, whom I haven’t seen since before college.

I picked up some series books for my collection: some Nancy Drew digest paperbacks, a couple Hardy Boys, and a late Bobbsey Twins I was missing. I also found one of the McGurk mysteries and two Mandie books, both series I loved when I was younger and hope to pass on some day.

2006_S 006

I also found the following adult mysteries:

  • Letter From Home by Carolyn Hart: From the author of the Dead on Demand series, featuring a teen-age girl during WWII
  • Postmortem, by Patricia Cornwell: I’ve been considering trying her books; this is the first in the Kay Scarpetta series
  • Withering Heights, by Dorothy Cannell: In addition to featuring amateur sleuth Ellie Haskell, these books never fail to make me laugh along
  • Irish Gold: A Nuala Anne McGrail Novel, by Andrew M. Greeley: the series gets trite later on, but the first ones are quite interesting and I know I’ll want to reread them
  • Silent In The Grave, by Deanna Rayburn; I think I’ve read the first chapter online about three times, so now I can finally see what happens!

2006_S 007

And some regular fiction as well:

And my camera cooperated for pictures. A good day all around!

Published in: on September 23, 2009 at 8:47 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/09/23/booksale-bargains/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

