Classics Challenge Summary

classicssmall

Classics Challenge 2009

(April 1-October 31, 2009)

This was much less of a challenge than I expected, and just what I needed. I’ve come to really love reading the classics as they give me an opportunity to think critically about books in the way I miss from English classes. Not to mention the great characters, plots, and writing!

Here’s my original post for the challenge. I ended up doing the Classics Snack option, which meant four books (all on my list):

  1. Little Dorrit, by Charles Dickens
  2. 1984, by George Orwell
  3. Moll Flanders, by Daniel Defoe
  4. The Mayor of Casterbridge, by Thomas Hardy

My bonus modern classic was Atonement, by Ian McEwan.

I also read a few classics for other challenges: The Castle of Ontranto by Horace Walpole, More Die of Heartbreak by Saul Bellow, Chekhov’s Major Plays, and Lady Susan by Jane Austen.

Thanks again to Trish of Trish’s Reading Nook for hosting such a motivational challenge!

Published in: on October 30, 2009 at 7:32 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/10/30/classics-challenge-summary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congrats on finishing the challenge! You read some really great choices and I agree with you that reading classics helps me think a little more critically about what I’m reading. I hope you’ll join again next year! 🙂

  2. […] Sorry for all the challenge posts lately! The Classics Challenge is the final one from last year that I would like to try again. Sometimes I need that little extra motivation to read the books I […]


Leave a Reply

