New Library Loot

During my weekly trip to the library I was able to restrain myself, and only came home with four books I wanted to read. Instead of having a list I let myself browse a bit to see what might strike my fancy (and you can probably guess the shelf by my picks). Here they are:

The House at Midnight, by Lucie Whitehouse. I wanted something fun and gothic; all the Kate Morton books were checked out but I recalled the title of this one from the TBR. Don’t ask me why I can’t settle for something suitable from my own stash instead. It’s gotten mixed reviews but I’m in a tolerant mood.

The Bride of the Innisfallen and Other Stories, by Eudora Welty. Actually the script font on the spine caught my eye. Why have I read nothing by her? I’m looking forward to rectifying that.

The Wedding, by Dorothy West. This semi-recent novel from “the last surviving member of the Harlem Renaissance” is set in 1950’s Martha’s Vineyard. Obama’s Dreams from My Father has me thinking a lot about similar issues, so it’s a good segue.

Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict, by Laurie Viera Rigler. For the Everything Austen Challenge.

I also had to renew the Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Sewing; three weeks got me halfway through the 400-page tome. I’m trying to make the simultaneous plunge from crafts to apparel and hand sewing to machine sewing. But I’m the kind of person who has to read about everything before I actually do it; earlier this year I reread my old Better Homes and Gardens Sewing Book which I picked up at a yardsale once and absolutely love. But techniques and materials have changed a bit since 1970, and I needed something a bit more modern.

Published in: on November 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/11/17/new-library-loot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

