In Need of a Chunkster

There’s a little over a month left in the year, and I still need to pick a book for the “long” category of the 9 for 09 Challenge. I think I’ve realized that I probably won’t get to Half Blood Prince by the end of the year, but at least I’ve still promised to read it.

I don’t bat an eye at 300-page reads, so a long book for me would have to be about at least 450 pages. To meet the challenge criteria it also has to be something on the shelves before the start of the year that I’ve been intending to read. I’m considering books my mom has as “owned” also, because I wouldn’t have bought a separate copy for myself. Here are the possibilities I’ve come up with.

A Prayer for Owen Meany, by John Irving (617 pages). Confession: This is the only book assigned for a class that I never read (well, Nietzsche too, but that’s different). I was too busy with college apps senior year and after 100 pages I had read enough to do the summer reading project.

Barchester Towers, by Anthony Trollope (746 pages). I’ve been dying to read his books, but it seems like such a time investment.

God is an Englishman, by R. M. Delderfield (816 pages). I picked up a few of these years ago and forgot about them until Danielle mentioned him on A Work in Progress and all the commenters raved.

And the Ladies of the Club, by Helen Hooven Santmyer (1175 pages). It follows three women over the course of their lives. My mom and one of my friends both love it, but I don’t know if I could finish it by the end of the year.

How Green Was My Valley, by Richard Llewellyn (446 pages). Another one of my mom’s favorites. It’s set in the Welsh countryside. I’m not sure if I’m in the mood for a moving (a.k.a. sad) story now though.

The Secret History, by Donna Tartt (537 pages). This seems like it might be an easier read.

Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo (1463 pages). I do want to read it at some point, but I think we can safely say this one’s out of the running.

I realized that Dreams from my Father, which I just finished, is about 450 pages, so if I get stuck I can count that. I’ve got five other books to read for challenges by the end of the year. Luckily I saved mostly short mysteries for last, but between subbing and Christmas hours at the mall I’m dubious about how much reading time I’ll actually have before the holidays. Plus impulse reads. If I don’t finish a challenge by a deadline, though, it’s not the end of the world.

Published in: on November 23, 2009 at 5:42 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/in-need-of-a-chunkster/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

