A Book Barrage

It’s been a few years since I’ve gone to the book sale at the larger branch library and I had forgotten what a large, well-organized collection they have. This is especially true with their children’s books, which are a steal at 50 cents each. I came home with quite a stack, including many series books like a Dana Girls and a Tom Corbett, both jacketless tweeds, and several high-number Boxcar Children.

As a trade-off the adult books are a bit pricier, and this room was my second stop so I forced myself to be much more judicious.

The Girl Who Married a Lion: and Other Tales from Africa, a book of traditional stories retold by Alexander McCall Smith.

Possession: A Romance, by A.S. Byatt. I’ve heard so many good things about this one–I can’t wait to read it!

Corelli’s Mandolin, by Louis de Bernieres. Another one from the TBR list. I love these Vintage editions.

Once Upon a Summer (Seasons of the Heart #1), by Janette Oke. I went through a huge phase of her as a teen and read every one the library had. All her series are set in the Canadian West. They’re fluffy, but good (and clean).

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation andThe Masque of the Black Tulip, by Lauren Willig. I’ve been dying to read this series, since I loved The Scarlet Pimpernel!

The Winter Rose, by Jennifer Donnelly. Yet another one I’ve been looking forward to reading. Now I just need to get my hands on The Tea Rose.

Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro. This one looks a bit challenging and not what I might ordinarily read, but I hope to keep expanding my horizons next year.

The Comedians, for my mom the Graham Greene fan.

I also found a darling century-old edition of Elizabeth Barret Browning poems, with gilt edges and a couple color plates. It’s in good condition for its age, too!

Published in: on November 26, 2009 at 2:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/11/26/a-book-barrage/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

