Guardian Challenge Summary

(Note: I am actually posting this summary several months after the contest ended, because I realized I’d left it as a draft.)

The Guardian’s 1000 Novels Challenge,

hosted by Jennie at BiblioFile

February 1, 2009 to February 1, 2010

Well, thanks to a little something called a job, my Guardian Challenge started with a bang and ended with a whimper.

Here is my original post, as well as my actual list of books read:

  1. Invisible Cities, by Italo Calvino (travel)
  2. Smilla’s Sense of Snow, by Peter Hoeg (mystery/crime)
  3. 1984, by George Orwell (sci-fi/fantasy)
  4. More Die of Heartbreak, by Saul Bellow (love)
  5. High Fidelity, by Nick Hornby (comedy)
  6. The Talented Mr. Ripley, by Patricia Highsmith (mystery/crime)

To be fair, Invitation to the Waltz and The L-Shaped Room are not available at any libraries in my county’s system, The Princess of Cleves is only on-line, and McTeague actually turned out to sound really boring.

However, I read several other books on the list, including

I Capture the Castle, by Dodie Smith

Manservant and Maidervant, by Ivy Compton-Burnett

The Uncommon Reader, by Alan Bennett

The Secret Adversary, by Agatha Christie

and others, so I don’t think it was a complete failure. In fact, if I count books intended for other challenges I read 19 Guardian books in the 2010 calendar year (several before I joined the challenge, though). I like that the list is broad enough to encompass a range of genres and tastes, but still (hopefully) guarantees some sort of merit. Now I just have several hundred books to go…

Published in: on February 2, 2010 at 11:38 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2010/02/02/guardian-challenge-summary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

