Library Loot

I love browsing for books at the library. The rows and rows of overflowing shelves give me a sense of comfort and anticipation, like a sailor scanning the horizon. At the same time, however, I know how many unread books are waiting for me at home, and the ones I bring home aren’t always on the TBR list.

My goal for summer reading is to catch up on both those two areas, so there will be no more spontaneous succumbing to library lust (at least, not too much). I think I did pretty well this time around, though!

The Teahouse of the August Moon, by Vern Sneider. Often I quickly scan the shelves and trust appealing books to catch my eye by title or font. A while ago I noticed this book because it is an older edition (printed in the sixties), considered it, and dismissed it as a military story. I happened to be browsing in the same aisle and it caught my eye again, so I’ll give it a shot. It’s a comedy about two geisha girls turning things upside down in a US-run Japanese village after WWII.

Miss Pettigrew Lives for A Day, by Winifred Watson. I hadn’t even thought our library would have Persephone Classics, but the dove-grey box on the spine jumped out immediately. It seems to be a Cinderella story for a spinster, and I’m quite looking forward to it.

The Shape of Sand, by Marjorie Eccles. I recognized the title from TBR list.  A woman tries to sort out the details of an event haunting her family since her Edwardian childhood 40 years before.

The immensely kind librarian commented to me that she loved the movies for both Miss Pettigrew and Teahouse for the August Moon, and that I would have to let her know next time how I liked the books. It makes me look forward to reading them that much more!

Published in: on June 5, 2010 at 10:06 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/library-loot-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

