Fudged End of the Year Stats

The fact that I am posting this a week into 2011 just about sums up 2010 for me. It seems as this year was rather a slow one, in terms of both reading and blogging. I find that with all my work I’m often hesitant to lose myself in a good book for fear of procrastination. Even worse, I’m often at a loss as to what to say afterward; by the time I’ve really processed the  book, others issues are demanding my time and attention. I have quite a few drafts for posts with only titles (about 10–eek), books I was waiting to do justice to and fear I never shall. Unfortunately, these were often the books that were my favorites. As a result, the numbers are in all probability inaccurate.

A Year in Review by the Numbers: 2010

Total number of books: 58

Fiction: 19

Nonfiction: 1

Mystery: 13

Classics: 4

Children/YA: 11

Graphic novels: 10

Short stories: 5 and a collection

Books in Translation: 1 (and 5 of the graphic novels)

Favorite Books of 2010

I find that my opinions of books are usually much stronger at the final page than after the covers have been closed for a while. These books, however, still make the grade.

~A Room with a View, by E.M. Forster. Hands-down my favorite of the year. I tutor for the SAT’s on the side, and recently discovered a new-to-me practice test from the College Board. When I realized that one of the reading passages was from this book (discussing Lucy’s piano playing), I nearly squealed with delight.

~The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Schaffer and Annie Barrows. This book needs no introduction, I’m sure, and I’m so glad I read it sooner rather than later. (And yes, for me this is sooner.)

~ Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, by Winifred Watson. A fun Cinderella story for grownups.

~ Human Voices, by Penelope Fitzgerald. I find her books very appealing, especially the premise of this one. It takes place at the BBC during WWII, and is sometimes funny, sometimes poignant, and always observant.

~ Redwall, by Brian Jacques. It’s hard to describe this book, because warrior mice fighting to defend their abbey doesn’t quite do it justice. This was the third time I’ve read the book.

What does 2011 hold? I’m not making plans. After all, I’ve still got this list from last year, on which I only checked off three(!) titles. They are still all books I want to read. Hopefully this year I can keep them more in mind, rather than reaching for short offerings like graphic novels or old series books.

Published in: on January 9, 2011 at 12:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/fudged-end-of-the-year-stats/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

