Books in the Mail

January days always seem better when you come home to interesting mail, and even more so when that mail involves books. I try not to buy a lot of new books, saving my splurges for book sales. Once in a while, however, I browse the Barnes and Noble clearance section to get the latest in series I like. It’s hard to beat brand new hardcovers for under $5!

Here’s the latest batch:

The Comforts of a Muddy Saturday, by Alexander McCall Smith. This is the fifth book in his Isabel Dalhousie series.

The Tale of Briar Bank, by Susan Wittig Albert, from her mystery series featuring Beatrix Potter. I’m starting to outgrow cozies, but these are cute.

The Temptation of the Night Jasmine, by Lauren Willig. I admit that I have yet to read the Pink Carnation series, but I’m so sure I’ll like it that I get them cheaply when I can. Does anyone else buy books in a series they haven’t started, or is that just my completist mentality?

Among the Mad, by Jacqueline Winspear. Maisie Dobbs I have read and enjoyed, but am behind on the series. I should try to catch up this year.

I’m trying to be a little more judicious in my book buying this year, as many must still sit next to the shelves rather than on them. I think my recent conversion to hardcovers is also partly to blame. I read a lot of older books, and paperbacks from the fifties and sixties are cracked and chipping. The hardbacks are much harder to come by, but even the book club editions have held up better. The downside is that they do take up more shelf space. Perhaps I need to do another weeding soon.

Published in: on January 30, 2011 at 10:08 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/books-in-the-mail-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

