February Reading Plans

I’ve been in the mood for romances lately–not the Harlequin kind, or even modern chick-lit, but stories with love and maybe a bit of adventure as well. This could be due in part to the proximity of Valentine’s Day. I’ll read a good love story at any time, though, and my current phase dates back through Enemy in the House and A Splendid Hazard, with some online stories as well.

If I’m not reading I like to think about what to read, and picked out some books for February based on my mood. Here are what the book descriptions have to say.

Ivanhoe, by Sir Walter Scott. “The noble young Ivanhoe returns home from the Crusades to claim his inheritance and the love of Rowena, a princess of an ancient Saxon line, and becomes involved in the struggle between Richard Coeur de Lion and his brother John.” Robin Hood and his Merry Men also make an appearance. I have vague memories of the Wishbone version of this one, mostly that there was a character named Rebecca.

Crimson Mountain, by Grace Livingston Hill. This is a 1940’s romance. “Laurel Sheridan, once wealthy and sheltered but now orphaned, gets a job teaching school in the little town of Carrollton near Crimson Mountain. She is rescued from danger by Phil Pilgrim, who is home from the army to sell the old family homestead to the government for a munitions plant. She remembers Phil long after he returns to duty, and has no interest in the parties of the gay set to which Adrian Faber belongs, though he constantly pursues her.” I’m pretty sure I could start reading this one right now and it would occupy me for the rest of the night.

The French Lieutenant’s Woman, by John Fowles. I knew pretty much nothing about this book, and am a little surprised. The jacket calls it “an unconventional love story that examines the nature of Victorian society, the notion of individual freedom, and the emergence of the modern age.”

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation, by Lauren Willig. I keep saying I plan to read this series, so why not start? Romance and secret plots sounds like the perfect blend of what I’m looking for.

I’ve actually already started two of the books. I’m keeping Ivanhoe in the car for whenever I have a few minutes to kill, and The French Lieutenant has five-page chapters which makes it perfect bedtime reading, at least early on. I have too many midterms to grade to handle a book that I couldn’t put down!

Published in: on February 8, 2011 at 6:19 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/february-reading-plans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] been reading, just not finishing books. Halfway through February I am still making progress on my reading plans. I’m more than two thirds through The French Lieutenant’s Woman, which both is and […]

  2. […] Secret History of the Pink Carnation is the second book I finished from my February reading plans, even if I didn’t actually read it until March. And Lauren Willig’s series was on my […]

  3. […] doing pretty well with my reading plans! Still working on Ivanhoe, but I finished The French Lieutenant’s Woman, by John […]


Leave a Reply

