The Notebook

The reason it hurts so much to separate is because our souls are connected. Maybe they always have been and always will be. Maybe we’ve lived a thousand lives before this one and in each of them we’ve found each other. And maybe each time, we’ve been forced apart for the same reasons. That means that this goodbye is both a goodbye for the past ten thousand years and a prelude for what will come.

I will always have a soft spot for The Notebook. It was the first adult book that I ever bought for myself, without even really realizing it, at a small booksale at a church fair. I tore through it and just fell in love with the story of Noah and Allie; I would go back to reread parts of it from time to time, and it remains one of my favorite romances. I think I read some of his other books as well (or maybe they were by James Patterson).

I was a total sap at heart back in the day, and loved the ideas of soulmates and childhood sweethearts and a fairytale happily-ever-after love that surmounted all obstacles. Now that I’m an adult myself I don’t really believe in any of that anymore. A good relationship is a combination of chemistry, respect, lots of work, and luck; there’s no destiny or Cupid involved, no guaranteed happy ending.

Every once in a while, though, I’ll get in the mood for an old-fashioned romance. For example, I pulled The Notebook off the shelf this week just to look up the passage above. Then I reread the ending, and the part where Allie reads Noah’s letters, and before I knew it I had pretty much reread the entire book (albeit somewhat out of order). It’s just that good.

Published in: on September 28, 2011 at 5:06 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/the-notebook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] somewhat sappy love stories you will like this book, and if not you should skip it. It's kind of The Notebook of the […]


Leave a Reply

