Summertime, and the Living Is Easy

Once again, posting during the school year just didn’t really happen for me. I find that once all the planning and grading are done,all I want to do is relax with a new book, not write about the last one I finished.

I have a ton of old drafts because I did at least keep my habit of making notes to myself as I read. The only thing that these reviews still need is the synopsis, which ironically for me is the hardest part. I can be quite long-winded and have trouble summing up a book succinctly. I’ve got a stack of books on my nightstand glaring at me for this sole reason, so one of the things to cross off on my to-do list this week is finalizing the posts. Bear with me if you see a lot of them suddenly crop up!

It was a very mystery-heavy spring, so my focus on summer reading is to mix in some classics. Last summer I kept Bleak House in the car for whenever I had a break between tutoring students or was waiting around somewhere. I’m thinking about giving Oliver Twist a go this time around; I’ve seen the movie(s)–real as well as Oliver and Company–and read the heavily abridged illustrated classic as a child.

I’m also continuing the Year of Rereading. The Jasper Fforde books are just calling my name, and I’m so excited to start from the beginning with Thursday and her world.

Published in: on June 11, 2012 at 10:43 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2012/06/11/summertime-and-the-living-is-easy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

