Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot

I’m still reading, but haven’t been active in the blog world for about five months. It’s freeing, in a way. I can read a book and start another immediately, enjoy something without having to analyze why. I’m realizing more and more that it’s less stressful for me not to worry about maintaining this blog.

And yet, part of me it still reluctant to let it go. I’m going to take a step down and go back to recording the books I read in a handwritten journal. I honestly do enjoy revisiting my thoughts from time to time, like a mini reread. I may type some of them up here or I my not; we’ll see how it goes. I’m getting into the busiest part of the school year for me and taking a grad class as well, so I may not even have all that much time for reading.

I wanted to do mini posts on the stack of read books next to my shelves, in order to do an accurate year-by-the numbers, but they keep trying to turn into proper reviews. This may be harder to get closure on than I thought. The most difficult part for me is always writing the summary, especially the longer its been since I read the book, so I may set a one-paragraph limit on the rest just to get through them.

I’m hoping that a switch to a more succinct format will cut out what seems to be a stumbling block for my OCD tendencies. I have drafts from three years ago that I still feel guilty about never finishing. It’s time for me to move on.

Published in: on January 1, 2013 at 3:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/should-auld-acquaintance-be-forgot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

