Ready to Imbibe Peril

Carl V.’s R.I.P. challenge is one of the ones I knew about from reading others’ blogs long before I started my own. I always love a good gothic or ghost story, especially once the leaves start crunching underfoot and fires begin crackling in the grate. (Luckily it’s not quite that cold yet.). So when news of this year’s Readers Imbibing Peril IV hit the blogosphere I looked forward once again to reading some spooky reviews. It would be fun to finally participate, I thought, but I’ve got too many other books on my plate right now.

A month in I’ve convinced myself that I might as well give it a go. The condition: I’m to limit myself to applicable books or authors that I enjoyed when younger. This way I can mix in several short reads without feeling overwhelmed. I’m not even committing myself to a specific number!

Here’s the pool:

rip4150John Bellairs. I only read the first of his Lewis Barnavelt books, so I’m leaning towards revisiting that and continuing on.

Down a Dark Hall, by Lois Duncan

The Dollhouse Murders, by Betty Ren Wright. Or perhaps others by her.

An Acquaintance with Darkness, by Ann Rinaldi. This historical novel centers around the Lincoln assassination and also involves grave robbing, if I remember correctly.

I may start John Bellairs’ The House with a Clock in its Walls tonight, so I’m all set for some shivers!

Published in: on October 9, 2009 at 8:55 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sequesterednooks.wordpress.com/2009/10/09/ready-to-imbibe-peril/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks like an exciting and scary list!

  2. […] was my first book for the R.I.P. IV Challenge. Next up is the sequel, The Figure in the Shadows. Published […]

  3. […] Letter, the Witch, and the Ring, which is my third book for the R.I.P. IV Challenge, is the last Bellairs himself wrote about these characters. If I have time before the end of the […]


Leave a comment